Invitation to wrestle with God

I was listening to a sermon via podcast this morning and began to focus on the scripture in Genesis 32:24 where Jacob wrestles with the angel…which is believed to have been Jacob wrestling God.
“This left Jacob all alone in the camp, and a man came and wrestled with him until the dawn began to break. When the man saw that he would not win the match, he touched Jacob’s hip and wrenched it out of its socket. Then the man said, “Let me go, for the dawn is breaking!” But Jacob said, “I will not let you go unless you bless me.” Genesis‬ ‭32:24-26‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Why this scripture came to mind, I do not know, because it was not part of the sermon I was listening to. But as I continued to ponder it, I began to think of this past year. All the struggles, the difficulties…how I would wrestle my mind, my circumstances, my doubts, my anxieties, my self-esteem…but not God. I often pray and ask God to help me, ask Him to bless me or take away the struggle BUT I don’t invite Him into my wrestling match.

The verse in Ecclesiastes 4:12 “Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A chord with three strands is not easily broken.” The latter part of this verse is quoted all the time, stitched on pillows and painted on signs…but the whole scripture, it isn’t just pretty-it’s powerful. It’s a battle plan. It is a call to invite HIM into the battle. TO WRESTLE WITH GOD. It is a reminder that we are not meant to do life alone. I am to invite others-my faith filled-ready to go to the mat-get down and dirty with me-community to join me in my battle. To tell them and trust them to walk through the fire and come out refined, formed, connected to me and God deeper than ever before. Life together-three strands-either way ends in victory. Ends in a blessing.

The story of Jacob doesn’t end with defeat, doesn’t end with a bum hip but instead it ends with a blessing. In all our struggles we have a choice to submit or benefit. To invite God and others to join me in the wrestling match and refuse to limp away in defeat. To invite God in and say “join me and bless me!”

In Psalm 115:11-12 says: “Yes, all his lovers who bow before him, trust in the Lord. For he is our only true hero, God-wrapped-around-us as our shield. The Lord will never forget us in our need; he will bless us indeed! He longs to be invited into the battle. He longs to bless us. Ephesians 6 says “In every battle, take faith as your wrap-around shield, for it is able to extinguish the blazing arrows coming at you from the Evil One!” He has equipped us and He is battle ready.

As I reflect on 2019 and began to dream, plan and faith walk into 2020, I know one thing is certain. I want to invite Him to walk with me, wrestle with me and bless me. I know I am not alone. The Lord is is surrounding me on all sides, with who HE is, with His angels and also a Christ centered community to wrestle with me and I with them.

Blessings,

Megan
‭‭‬‬

Leave a comment